Hey, Rodeo Fans! Recent big news from the PBR (Professional Bull Riders) is that Oklahoma is one of eight founding teams in the new elite bull riding league set to kick off at the beginning of summer.

A rider draft will be held May 23 among PBR members and the PBR Team Series will host the 10-event regular season in participating cities. The playoff will be held in Las Vegas Nov. 4-6.

According to a press release at wranglersnetwork.com, here’s how it works:

The PBR Team Series builds on the existing structure of Professional Bull Riding with the same basic rules for judging and scoring qualified 8-second bull rides. Events will be structured in a tournament-style format with all teams competing in head-to-head matchups against a different opponent each day.

Each game will feature five riders per team squaring off against another team. Full team rosters will be comprised of seven riders on the core roster and up to three practice squad members. The team with the highest aggregate score of qualified rides among its riders will be declared the winner of each game. The event winner will be the team with the most game wins across an event, with a special bonus round designed as a tiebreaker to determine final event standings.

The eight inaugural teams are the Ariat Texas Rattlers, based in Fort Worth, Texas; the Arizona Ridge Riders, based in Glendale, Ariz.; the Austin Gamblers, based in Austin, Texas; the Carolina Chaos, based in Winston-Salem, N.C.; the Kansas City Outlaws, based in Kansas City, Mo.; the Missouri Thunder, based in Ridgedale, Mo.; the Nashville Stampede, based in Nashville, Tenn.; and the Oklahoma Freedom, based in Oklahoma City.